Addicted to ParkRun

Spot the Dennis! #hovepromparkrun #BM10

My ParkRun inspiration

A post shared by Sarah Booker (@nimmykins) on Apr 9, 2017 at 12:39am PDT

When I put my mind to it I can do things.

This year I’ve cut out dairy after saying goodbye to cheese at Christmas, and in January took up ParkRun.

So far I’ve attended ten events, completed eight runs (power walks) and volunteered once.

I shaved three minutes and 24 seconds of my first time.

Like a loon I’ve signed up to the 2018 BM10. I know I can finish within the required two hours.

Pretty sure I’ll be last. I’m nearly always second to last, but I DON’T CARE!

Nearly every week it feels great to take part.

What makes ParkRun so special is the positive attitude.

People cheer me along at the back. I cheer people lapping me.

This weekend I scanned the finishers (I’m not well).

Some of these people are really fast, but what made it very ParkRunny was the number of them who thanked me for volunteering.

It makes you feel warm inside.

This week I start my introduction to running course with Brighton and Hove Women’s Running Club.

I feel better in myself and much healthier.

Leave a Reply

